Work boots.

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by lostprofit, Oct 9, 2010.

1. lostprofit

lostprofit New Member

I'm starting a new job (finally) in the back room of a big box store and need to find a comfortable pair of steel-toe work boots. Anyone have recommendations? Brand, where to buy?

2. Madpegtod

Madpegtod New Member

I've been wearing steel toes on concrete for about 15 years now. I have tried several brands including Wolverine, Georgia Boots, Redwing, and Timberland. My personal favorites are Wolverine. Wolverine Durashocks seem to hold up better on concrete and are lighter in weight. They are on the expensive side though. If cost is an issue, then I would recommend Georgia boots. They are definitely good quality for the money.

3. Jonboy

Jonboy New Member

I agree- I have tried many and Wolverine Durashocks are my favorite.

4. BSCLibertarian

BSCLibertarian I'm kind of a big deal

If you have to go lower end due to price you can always put some good insoles in them (like Dr. Schols or similar). :righton:

5. vanguard

vanguard New Member

I have a pair of timberland steel toe boots that felt great the two times i wore them, my company went out of business a week later. :evil:

6. phantoms

phantoms Senior Mumbler

I will spend good money on comfortable work boots. I'm on concrete all day and my body will pay the price if I don't. I've worn Redwing for years but recently switched over to Belleville Boots and wear their 800 ST. Darn good boots.

7. mountainpass

mountainpass Under Scrutiny

krmbigmac was wearing some good looking steel toe Redwings today on the Jeep ride.
    I like my steel toe Wolverines.

8. Priest

Priest New Member

A pair of Redwings saves me from losing a foot in 2002, IMO quality has suffered in the last 2-3 years though. I use Bates composite full caps now. Really lightweight and very strong.

9. rmodel65

rmodel65 Yukon Cornelius