Wireless

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by kestak, Oct 11, 2010.

1. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

Never did that before. I have a 2wire with AT&T (plan to switch soon to cable and keep router) and the signal does not go into my garage. I want to add another wifi router to extend the signal. I was looking at the drink dir601 at best buy for 29.99$ in special.

I think I can do that technically. But anyone did it and can tell me it works really? It will be wifi to wifi. I can't wire the 2 routers with ethernet. If the signal degrades, let's say 50 percent between router 1 and router 2, will router 2 be able to boost signal really?

Btw, I did everything with the current wifi router (boost signal to 10, change frequency, etc). The only option left is extending the network.

Thank you

2. HydroAuto

HydroAuto GPDO Commonlaw Spouse

I'm by no means a wireless expert, but how about finding a b/g/n wireless router, assuming your wireless devices are n-compatible. From what I've read n has a range advantage over a, b & g.

3. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

I am doing researches presently. I found out the Apple Airport Express device. I am still reading about it. Is there any other device I could plug into the electrical outlet that extend the wifi like that? It sound....magical...LOL

Thank you

4. HydroAuto

HydroAuto GPDO Commonlaw Spouse

5. vr6glidriver

vr6glidriver New Member

Sounds like you need a range extender, not a second wireless router. I'm not familiar with the D-Links, but most routers cannot be used in the manner you need, IE amplify and repeat an existing wireless signal.

6. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

Ok, did more reading and researches.

Dang! I will have to bully myself. I feel so geeky!!! :lol:

I read about the range extenders and it looks like the one with least complaints is the Netgear http://www.buy.com/prod/netgear-wn2000rpt-universal-wifi-range-extender/q/loc/101/216738846.html .