What's a "pistol"?

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by Macktee, Apr 8, 2007.

1. Macktee

Macktee New Member

How can this

http://www.kel-tec.com/plr16.html

be a pistol, while these aren't?

http://www.impactguns.com/store/Pre-028384.html

http://www.auctionarms.com/search/displ ... um=7924801

http://www.auctionarms.com/search/displ ... um=7941585

Especially that first one, which is also .223 cal. The other two are 12 ga.

They don't look all that different to my non-expert eyes. All are two handed "pistols" and semi-auto. They do the same job about equally.

So, what's the difference? I've seen "pistols" that look like short barreled rifles and SBRs that look an awful lot like some "pistols".

Why does the BATF rule one way on one and the other on another, other than just because they can???

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

I'm no expert, but I'll take a shot at it. Not counting the PLR16.

The 1st has a collapable stock classifying it as a rifle.

The 2nd, being a pump action means that it's designed for two handed use, which classifies it as a rifle.

The 3rd has a foward grip which makes it get classified as a rifle. Just like if you put a foregrip on any pistol, it would be classified ar a short barrel rifle.

3. foshizzle

foshizzle New Member

The stock that the first one has makes it a rifle. The other 3... well two are SBR's and the other is an AOW.

Pistols generally shoot pistol ammo, can be shot with one hand and don't have a stock or forward hand grip. ATF has legalesed it to death and it's out there for reading. I can't read all that crap lol.

There must be some kind of exception for the Kel-Tec. I think that overall length would be the primary factor. You make some kind of shoulder stock (coathanger, lol) and put it on that PLR and it's an SBR.

Now I went and confused myself #-o

4. gunsmoker

gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

Shoulder Stock