What to get for a HD shotgun?

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by budder, Aug 20, 2007.

1. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

I've been researching this for several years and pretty much got it narrowed down to an 870P or a 590 A1. But recently, I've been lusting after a coach gun, even if I have to get a bottom-end Stoeger. I know it's not really feasible for anything other than cowboy action shooting (which I'm not really interested in), but I want one.

Assuming that I will eventually have both, what do you think I should do?

2. erk

erk New Member

Marine , thankyou w. 18inch ,very nice.

3. Cavediver

Cavediver New Member

Utility first, toys second.
    And third.
    And...

4. budder

The police version has the longer mag tube and is supposed to be built better. And, since Atlanta's not near the ocean and I never go to Lanier, the marine-ness wouldn't be useful.

Also,
    - Jeff Cooper's Commentaries, Vol. 2, No. 3

- Jeff Cooper, February 1990

5. foshizzle

foshizzle New Member

Coach guns are really, really cool. But you're looking at two shots max. That's not enough for a practical HD gun. Sure, it will work, but it's apples and oranges compared to a pump or semi.

IMHO, I think the 590 is your best bet as an HD gun. Rugged, reliable, short, stronger parts than your normal mossy 500. I think the 870 will give you more options if you want to do something else with it. The 870 is more versatile. They are both fantastic.

Personally I plan on going with something like a short barrelled Saiga 12ga.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewIt ... m=78678083

I'm still waiting on my first stamp in my collection. That may be the next :D

6. AeroShooter

AeroShooter New Member

Beneilli Nova Tactical... with magazine extension.

7. budder

I can't stand the Nova. It feels cheap and plasticky in a way that makes Glocks sound like a good idea.

8. Bulldawg182

Bulldawg182 Active Member