Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's September 19 as I write this and I've been carrying for about 5 months now. Tonight, I was gazing, glassy-eyed, at the computer screen trying to wind down my mind from a fairly involved Saturday. It's approximately 12:30 and the still of the night it shattered by two sharp reports VERY close to my house. :help: I kill the light in the room grab my shotgun and peer out my window.

No one in sight.

I move to the living room where we have a large picture window with a full view of the street. Now, maybe I'm expecting too much, but I know somebody else in my neighborhood heard the crack of gunfire in the middle of the might. As I still live with my family, my father comes upstairs Ruger P89 tucked in the pocket of his shorts, he calls the police to make a report. He tells me, "I'm going back to bed, thanks for looking out for everyone."

I stay in the living room staring out the window, shotgun in my lap for the next 35 minutes or so. I expect Clayton County PD or some patrol car to at very least do a roll through or come knock to ask what's going on.

NOTHING!

I know police are busy and if no one was hurt, nothing can really be done. This is far from the first time it's happened in my neighborhood, and I wonder if the police know that there isn't anything going on. I suddenly felt a calm assurance that I could help the people I live with if the police weren't able.

I carry a gun to not only protect myself but to protect the people I love as well. I guess tonight was the first time it really sank in that way. :righton:

·
Registered
2,176 Posts
Nice story and I applaud your mind-set.

I will point out, though, that it appears to me that "no one was hurt" could be contradicted after a few days pass and the stench of rotting flesh fills the air.

·
Lawyer and Gun Activist
28,312 Posts