Weapons on school property

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by Purge, Sep 22, 2006.

1. Purge

Purge New Member

Here’s my situation. I’m a school teacher with a permit. I would like to carry my pistol to work (school), lock it up in a case in my car, and then carry it home or wherever. Can I do this or not? Below is the Unannotated Georgia Code with my interpretation and thoughts.

16-11-127.1. Weapons on school property

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, it shall be unlawful for any person to carry to or to possess or have under such persońs control while within a school safety zone…

(c) The provisions of this Code section shall not apply to:

(6) A person who has been authorized in writing by a duly authorized official of the school to have in such persońs possession or use as part of any activity being conducted at a school building, school property, or school function a weapon which would otherwise be prohibited by this Code section. Such authorization shall specify the weapon or weapons which have been authorized and the time period during which the authorization is valid;

If I got permission in writing from the principal I should have no problem, but I don’t think I want the principal involved. It’s best not to draw attention to what I’m doing.

(17) Teachers and other school personnel who are otherwise authorized to possess or carry weapons, provided that any such weapon is in a locked compartment of a motor vehicle or one which is in a locked container in or a locked firearms rack which is on a motor vehicle.

This should answer my question. Then I look at the words “authorized to possess or carry weapons.†Is it safe to assume that means Section 16-11-129 (Georgia Firearm License) or some other authorization?