Unloaded weapons, locked containers

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by viper32cm, Feb 20, 2007.

1. viper32cm

viper32cm New Member

For the purposes of a hypothetical lets assume the following:

So I'm going to be heading off for vacation in a couple weeks and as usual I'm going to be bringing several pistols and at least one long gun (a shotgun) with me. Because I'm leaving on a school day and would rather not miss class I will have to be at school for part of the day. Being literate I know that per 16-11-127.1 I could have a weapon in a locked compartment of a motor vehicle (trunk); however, the execpetion in 16-11-127.1 doesn't apply to me becasue I'm a student. So I guess I would have to drive back to my place and pick my guns up before leaving for vacation.

However, does it matter for the purposes of the law that the guns are unloaded? Better yet does it matter for the purposes of the law if the guns are assembled. A shotgun can be easily taken down, as can most autoloading pistols.

Looking at the defintion of firearm it doesn't reall seem to make the distinction, even unloaded and disassembled the guns could be "converted" into something capable of expelling a bullet, shot, etc. Further the definition of handgun specifies "loaded or unloaded."

So I suppose my answer is no, woot GA gun laws, increasing law abiding citizens dependency on foreign oil.

But this mental exercise raises an interesting issue. In cars that have fold down rear seats that don't lock does the trunk cease to be a locked compartment?

2. Gunstar1

Gunstar1 Administrator

Well, you could always park outside of the 1000ft zone that surrounds the school property.

If you are talking about the locked compartment, I would guess that it would not be. Though it does say a locked container, so a firearm case with a simple lock should do.

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member