UGA Students Pick Own Grades

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by Nemo, Aug 8, 2017.

1. Nemo

Nemo Man of Myth and Legend

Wish I could for my bachelors. One + and I would have made Cum Laude on that.

Nemo

https://www.seccountry.com/sec/univ...-can-choose-grades-in-stress-reduction-policy

Click link above and read rest of the story.

2. Aberk

Aberk Custom User Title

I saw this a week or so ago and keep thinking there has to be more to it than this. It couldn't have gotten out of control this quickly since I graduated college (not from GA) 10 yrs ago.

3. mountainpass

mountainpass Under Scrutiny

Some have surmised this is in response to campus carry, but I could find no link.

4. mrhutch

mrhutch Well-Known Member

I had a business psych class where the teacher did something like that. At the end of the semester he told us to pick our grade and write the reason why we thought we deserved it. If he agreed, he'd give us the grade we wrote down. I gave myself a 90, and got it. That class was awful though. Prof was a nice guy but a complete quack.

5. Rugerer

Rugerer GeePeeDoHolic

Good freaking grief! Reminds me of a 3-question final that took 5 hours to work in a period scheduled for 3 hours, and I finished close to first. The prof was making comments like, "I'm getting a Coke. Watching y'all work is making me sweat!"

6. carnut

carnut Member

Holey crap !! Really prepared for the real world.. How would you like to hire one of these 'stress free' as an employee.. Insists on setting his/her own work performance grading, and decides to walk off a project when the group dynamics get stressful. How much did they say this education costs ?

7. Verbal101

Verbal101 Active Member