Training with your Family

Discussion in 'Training' started by amrote, Oct 20, 2010.

1. amrote

amrote New Member

My wife and I went on a date yesterday and it consisted of lunch at the Olive Garden and then a trip to Shooters in Augusta GA. Now my wife has been taught to shoot by both the US Air Force and by the Firearms Training Unit of the FBI so she knows what to do. I am a firearms instructor myself, but I prefer she get training from other instructors as it just works better that way. With me being a LEO and her being in the medical field we don’t get many days off together and getting her to the range is rather hard.

I had just made some upgrades on someone’s Beretta 92 and wanted to take it to the range to shoot a few rounds and asked her to come with me. I had secretly packed her Glock 19 into my range bag and figured since we were there she might and well shoot a couple of rounds thru her gun. She was reluctant since she was tired from the night shift, but agreed to get me to shut up. She began to shoot and was anticipating the recoil at first, but after about 15 rounds she tightened up her group and had fun.

She even stated she was glad I “convinced†her to go shooting. She asked me how she could avoid anticipating the recoil and I told her she is going to have to shoot more. I know I can ball and dummy her to death, but I love shooting and want to share that experience with my wife. Being competitive in nature I think I just gave her a challenge she is determined to win.