Thoughts on a 'No Firearms Allowed' business

Discussion in 'Firearm Related' started by WGTactical, Nov 7, 2010.

1. WGTactical

WGTactical Member

Considering we only have one amendment having to do with recognizing our right to keep and bear an object, you’d think the fact someone even bothered to write it down would be enough reason to protect, even if you were somehow able to ignore it being high on the list.

No Firearms Allowed on this Property

Well, if you are a homeowner or property owner and this is your wishes, so be it. However if you have a walk-in business that requires you to have a business license, I believe that you should be required to accommodate the folks that a rule like this will affect.

I am a business owner since 1997, and I am fully aware of the procedures and ever changing rules that come with maintaining one, as well as how to get and renew a business license. Even before I could get a certificate of occupancy, there were certain criteria that must be met. Among these were handicap provisions, including a restroom with ADA compliant toilet, sink, mirror, building access and parking. It costs more to do this and I have no problem with that, even though I cant think of a single handicapped person that has visited my property in 13 years of business. But if they ever do, I can certainly accommodate their visit.

My confusion comes with trying to make sense of how can someone have the power to deny someone else their constitutional right(s) while in the course of doing business with that person, without the necessity to accommodate them for this temporary suspension of their rights. As a business owner, I need my customer’s money and/or my employee’s help if I am to stay in business. Either way, neither one is of value to me once they’ve been killed on their way to or from my business as a result of trying to be compliant with my no firearms policy while here.