Teacher School Zone Question

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by ntech, Jun 13, 2007.

1. ntech

ntech Member

Hey guys, I am brand new to your forum. I would first like to say how much I have enjoyed reading all of your posts. I have learned a lot in the short time I have been reviewing this site.

I currently work as a teacher at a public school. I have a valid GFL. There are no gun ranges around my residence to practice firing my Glock. However there are ranges close by my school. It is my wish to be able to transport my gun in my car to work. After work I would like to drive directly to the range in order to practice firing.

This is the scenario: I will have my glock unloaded and locked within a box in the trunk of my car. I will then leave my locked weapon in the trunk of my car in the school parking lot. I will go to my classroom, unarmed, and teach as I usually do. Is this considered breaking the law?

2. GAGunOwner

GAGunOwner Active Member

It appears that what you are proposing would be legal to you as a teacher with a valid GFL. It appears that you don't have to unload your gun. It looks like you can leave a loaded glock in your glove box everyday as long as the glovebox locks. Remember, the exception appears only to apply at the school you work at but no other.

http://www.georgiapacking.org/GaCode/?t ... tion=127.1

3. GAGunOwner

GAGunOwner Active Member

Now for trunks...

I'm unsure if the trunk is a "locked compartment" or if you'd need to have them locked in something seperate inside of the locked trunk.

Hopefully, other board members will chime in on this one. :D

edit: I just reread the statute one more time and it looks like the box needs to lock if you are going to have it in the trunk.

4. GAGunOwner

GAGunOwner Active Member

If I were you I'd probably just put my glock in the locked glovebox.

5. ntech

ntech Member