Taurus PT740 Slim .40 S&W

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by Guest, Oct 27, 2010.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Any thoughts on this pistol (or the 9mm derivitive?) I have zero experience with Taurus semi-auto pistols, but the Air Force Base I'm currently stationed at (moving to GA in December) has a new 740 slim for $365 (no tax, out the door same day.) I have a Ruger LCP that is a good pocket pistol and I'm looking for a more substantial everyday carry gun. I'm also looking at the Kel Tec PF-9 due to it's smaller size/width/weight. I'm smaller framed (5'6" 155lbs) and would probably be more apt to carry somthing in this size/weight everyday versus something wider/boxier/heavier. I'm the type that feels I shouldn't have to pay upwards of $800 for a carry weapon if cheaper alternatives exist (as long as they're reliable.) Not really concerned with how one trigger is over others either; If I own a weapon I'll train to use that weapon (especially considering it's intended purpose.) Thoughts?

v/r
    Sarge

2. SongDogSniper

SongDogSniper New Member

I was in the market for a small, reasonably priced 9mm single stack, looked at the Taurus 709 Slim, Keltec PF9 and the Kahr CW9. I decided on the Kahr CW9. I paid $400 for it new out the door, I think for what you get for your money, the CW series from Kahr is an excellent buy. Check them out at www.kahr.com.

They also make a CW40 if you prefer .40SW and CW45 if you are a .45ACP guy. The CW40 is the about the same size as the CW9, the CW45 is bigger. In this light of a weapon, I prefer the 9mm myself, but that is just me. I just added Trijicon night sights to mine and will pick up a couple of spare mags soon.

3. AzB

AzB Well-Known Member

I've had the 9mm 709 for almost a year. I bought it for deep conceal, since my edc is a large .45.