Sport Shooting Range OCGA 41-1-9 Confirm

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by GeorgeShootaire, Nov 30, 2017.

1. GeorgeShootaire

GeorgeShootaire Site Supporter

Hi,

I built a professional quality range on my Walton County A2 rural zoned property in July 2015. It's well documented with video blogs and photos being built and people shooting on it. It's clearly a range with 14' earth and timber back stop, gravel floor, target system, bench, props and flood lights.

It doesn't violate any known codes that I'm aware of. There have been a few calls on gunfire where the sheriff informed the callers I had a safe range and not breaking any codes or laws. I've always tried to bend to neighbor wishes and cooperate on the noise.

I'm an instructor and the range is covered by NRA insurance. I have paid students that come for coaching or I invite and authorize select individuals to come shoot. It's not open to the general public and it's also not a full business like a large gun club. I don't advertise or seek members outside my family, friends and circles.

I fully believe my range is protected and defined as a sport shooting range per Code Section 49-1-9 but a knowledgeable friend I respect believes this is not true. Can someone with intimate knowledge of these Ga laws confirm which of us is correct? He reads the law to require the range be open to the public for purchased memberships.

THANKS for your valuable time. I would prefer comments from subject matter experts if possible. I searched before I posted and only found one other similar topic. I did join as a member tonight to support the site.

Referencing this link.
    https://www.georgiapacking.org/GaCode/?title=41&chapter=1&section=9