Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner
1 - 1 of 28 Posts

· Weapons Law Booklet
1,063 Posts
South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) is in charge of gun permits.
On their website they have links to three Code sections dealing with guns and off-limits locations.

And here's SLED's summary of off-limits locations. This appears to be a paraphrase of various laws, not actual text from any Code section:


A Concealable Weapons Permit (CWP) holder is prohibited from carrying a handgun at these locations:

Premises of private or public school, college, university, technical college, other post-secondary institution (without express permission of person in charge of premises)(Section 16-23-420)(Felony - $5000 and/or 5 years imprisonment)

Inside public-owned buildings of any kind, except at Interstate highway rest areas (Section 16-23-420)(Felony - $5000 and/or 5 years imprisonment)

Inside an establishment licensed for on-premises consumption of alcohol (Section 16-23-465)(Misdemeanor - $2000 and/or 3 years imprisonment)

Into a private residence without permission of owner or person in legal control or possession, as appropriate (Section 23-31-225)(Misdemeanor - $1000 and/or 1 year imprisonment)

A place where carrying is prohibited by proper sign (Section 23-31-235)(Misdemeanor - $200 or 30 days imprisonment)

A CWP does not authorize carrying a firearm:

Into a law enforcement office or facility

Into a detention or correctional facility

Into a courthouse or courtroom

Into a polling place on election day

Into an office or business meeting of a governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special purpose district

Into a school or college athletic event not related to firearms

Into a day care or pre-school facility

Into a place where carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law

Into a church or other established religious sanctuary, except with express permission of the appropriate church official or church governing body

Into a hospital, medical clinic, doctor's office, any facility where medical services or procedures are performed, except (employees of the facility) with express permission of the employer

Violation of these provisions is a misdemeanor - not less than $1000 and/or imprisonment for 1 year and revocation of permit for 5 years.
1 - 1 of 28 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.