Silver Comet Trail

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by gunsmoker, Dec 20, 2005.

1. gunsmoker

gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

Today's AJC reports that a woman was attacked by a knife-weilding man on the Silver Comet Trail-- that 38-mile long former railroad track between Mableton and Rockmart that is now paved and used for biking and skating and running. Is that a state park? Is it a series of county parks (the trial runs through multiple counties)? Are firearms off-limits there? I've been using that trail for 20 years, since long before they paved it. I used to hike or ride dirt bikes on it when it was just an abandoned railroad line. There are still parts of it that are miles from the nearest civilization, where there is no cellphone signal, and where nobody would come to your aid if you ran across a violent criminal, a pack of semi-feral dogs, a rabid fox, etc. Are civilians with permits allowed to carry there?

(If I see somebody pull a knife on a woman and put his hands on her in anger, I'm likely to want to at least draw my weapon and try to distract him, though in 90% of the cases where this happens not only will she deny that she was in danger, she will team up with him and say that YOU are the assailant, if it is a domestic dispute that you interfere with!)

2. seajay

seajay Active Member

Not sure

But I know several people who use the silver Comet regularly while armed.

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

I know several people (not naming any names) who eat in restaurants that serve alcohol and otherwise attend public gatherings while armed. That is not really the question.