Setting off store sensor?

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by 70755, Oct 11, 2010.

1. 70755

70755 Guest

I am very new to actually trying CC. This past weekend while at Home Depot I did a self checkout of some light bulbs and a few other items. No issues. As I was walking out the door the shoplifting sensors you walk through set off for some reason. (no, I did not shoplift anything... :^) ) The attending cashier monitor waved me on no problem. But as this was my first time CCing a big box store like that, I was wondering was that related to my carrying, or just a coincidence?

2. hma153

hma153 Uninvited Guest

3. a_springfield

a_springfield Well-Known Member

check your cloths and shoes they probably have a sensor on them.

4. RedDawnTheMusical

RedDawnTheMusical Well-Known Member

Likely the self checkout simply missed one ofnthe tags. Whatever it was, it definitely wasn't your firearm.

5. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

The detectors are set off by an RFID tag that is attached to one of the items you purchased. It appears that you did not deactivate one of them when scanning them at the register.

6. 70755

70755 Guest

That is how I thought they worked (RFID or equivalent), but just wanted to make sure.

7. BirdMan

BirdMan Active Member

I've always suspected that the attendants at the door (e.g., at Wal-mart) can and do set off the alarm when they profile someone they want to look through someone's bag and check their receipt. I don't know if it happens or if I'm paranoid, but I'd be fascinated to know if it's true.

8. Fallschirmjäger

Fallschirmjäger I watch the watchers

I know that if you activate a tone tracer -
    [​IMG]

that it will set off the security sensors at Rich's/Macy's, etc.
    Funny to see people that suddenly break into a dead run as they walk through. :lol: :lol: :lol:

9. EmergencyNrse

EmergencyNrse Member

It is not up to the purchaser to deactivate the security tags.