Salutations from Fort Gordon

Discussion in 'Welcome New Members' started by CTI1(EXW), Jan 11, 2011.

1. CTI1(EXW)

CTI1(EXW) New Member

Good morning all!

I am active duty US Navy and have been stationed at Fort Gordon since March 2008. I am also an Iowa resident and holder of an Iowa non professional permit to carry weapons. Iowa did not historically reciprocate recognition of Georgia permits and as such I have not been able to carry since I have been stationed here. On January 1st, 2011, a new Iowa law recognizing weapons permits issued by all 50 states went into effect and from what I can tell Georgia law automatically honors permits by any state that in turn honor Georgia permits. Despite the relative clarity of this portion of Georgia law, the state AG's office and the Richmond County Sheriff's office have both told me to wait until Georgia "officially" recognizes Iowa permits to begin carrying. Am I required to wait?

Thanks for your help everyone :righton:

V/R,

CTI1(EXW)

2. The Math Teacher

The Math Teacher New Member

Welcome!

I thought as active military duty you were able to carry.
    I'm sure someone will be along in a minute to correct me if I'm wrong.

3. CoffeeMate

CoffeeMate Junior Butt Warmer

Active duty US military are exempt from needing a GWL in Georgia. You can carry on your active duty ID, (both CC or OC).

:righton:

4. jdh31313

jdh31313 Active Member

Welcome from Hinesville & thank-you for your service! Wow...a Navy guy on an Army Post, that really is like a fish out of water :mrgreen:

5. rainmaker

rainmaker New Member

Welcome, and thank-you for your service :righton:

It is my understanding that you can carry in GA since you are on active duty here.

6. CountryGun

CountryGun New Member