Ruger M77 7mm Mag

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by jreXD9, Nov 24, 2010.

1. jreXD9

jreXD9 Active Member

I put $ down on one yesterday.
    Anyone here care to give their impressions on this weapon? Recoil? What grain do you suggest?
    It came w/scope, muzzle brake, sling and trigger job (less than 3 lbs now) and 2 boxes of ammo.
    Sorry, no pics.....it doesn't reside with me yet.

2. Match10

Match10 Active Member

I have extensive experience with both the Ruger M77 and the 7 mm RemMag Cartridge, though not in the same weapon. I handload for the cartridge and have worked up extensive loads for range, hunting, and supreme accuracy in my rifle.

[​IMG]

What is the intended use of the rifle? Which variant of the rifle?

This years' Wyoming Fast Food.... 282 yards and uphill 210 feet...

[​IMG]

Recoil? That little cartridge has no stinkin' recoil! (Really, I swear.... :cantsay: ) Yes, there is some recoil. I prefer a 140 Barnes Bullet. 3380 fps.

My Model 77 Ruger is an older model and has been a fine, servicable rifle for almost 35 years.

3. Archangel

Archangel Moderator Staff Member

I have an older M77 in 7MM MAG. I love the gun. Recoil is not harsh, trajectory relatively flat. Many good loads available for it.

The one I have was my dads. I had the same rifle in .300 WinMAG. Was also very good. When my dad passed away, I kept his 7MM and sold my .300 WinMAG cause I also inherited his .300 Weatherby.

I found the action on the M77 series (at least the ones that I have had/handled to be a bit rougher out of the box, but get your self some Flitz and polish the bolt up and she'll smooth up a bunch.

Good luck with it, they are fine guns.

4. jreXD9

jreXD9 Active Member

it's used and the action is VERY smooth compared to the action of others I looked at.