Red dot sights...

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by kestak, Jun 18, 2007.

1. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

As you may know now, I am quite fairly new to weapons (Thanks to the great Liberal Canadian Governement) but now that I am in Georgia, I am trying to make out for all those years I lost up there freezing in the cold...hehehehe.

I have 2 questions:

1 - Red dot scope. I read, saw on the web but I do not still figure out how they work. Is it like a normal scope but you put the red dot on the target? Do you have to care about the front sight? Is it working with a battery(I am assuming so)? Are those manifying or just plain 1x?

2 - What about installing a red dot scope on my AK-47? Is there a brand that mount on the side? What brand would you go for?

Thank you
    P.S.: Do not hesitate to write in detail. :)

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

I'll try to answer your questions from my experience with cheapie red dots.

1) Yes, they are battery operated. I could not shoot my Hi-Point 9mm carbine Sat, since I forgot to turn off the sight the last time I shot it. The only ones that I have used are 1x, although I think that I have seen some with magnification. Depending on the gun and how high the sight mounts, you can use it where the dot, front sight and target line up, or you can remove the front sight and use just the red dot.

2) As far as your AK, there are two ways to mount one. If you Google "AK47 Optics Mount", you will see plenty of places selling two types.

One of them is shaped like a backwards 7. It attaches to the side mount on your Ak and gives you a Weaver rail above your factory sights that you can mount a scope to. Some people think that it's too high that way and awckward to fire. I tried it that way, and had a problems getting my scope to zero in. The scope didn't have enough elevation adjustment to make up for being mounted so high.