Reciprocity Question

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by GSCSRET, Apr 8, 2018.

1. GSCSRET

GSCSRET Member

I'm a NC resident with a NC carry license. I know GA and NC have reciprocity but does that reciprocity cover a NC license holder to open carry in GA?

I was in a discussion with a friend and he was telling me that a friend of his was in GA, open carrying, and he was informed by LEO that unless he had a GWL he was not allowed to open carry in GA.

This sounded odd to me so I wanted to check in here since I know there are several LEO connected members.

Thanks for your help.

Motopackin likes this.
  2. Wegahe

Wegahe NRA Instructor

Have you ever heard the phrase "When in Rome do as the Romans."?

Same applies in reciprocity. When visiting another state the state laws apply.

MSgt G and Motopackin like this.

3. Fallschirmjäger

Fallschirmjäger I watch the watchers

FPNI.
    What matters in Georgia is Georgia law.

Just in case your friend should happen to question it, show him this:
    OCGA 16-11-126(e)
    "...(e) Any person licensed to carry a handgun or weapon in any other state whose laws recognize and give effect to a license issued pursuant to this part shall be authorized to carry a weapon in this state, but only while the licensee is not a resident of this state; provided, however, that such licensee shall carry the weapon in compliance with the laws of this state...."

Last edited: Apr 8, 2018
    MSgt G likes this.
  4. gunsmoker

gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

Does your friend's friend have a carry permit, like you do?

Georgia does require a weapons carry license to carry, openly or concealed, if you're not on your own land, or in your home, or your vehicle, or at your place of business.

But as shown in the post above, a license from a state with reciprocity with Georgia is fully effective and legally the same (at least as far as GA law goes) as a GA-issued permit.

MSgt G likes this.
  5. gunsmoker