Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. I’m new to this forum, and to the state of Georgia.

So I recently moved to Atlanta, Georgia for a job and want to apply for a WCL.

So here’s the deal. I’m an OIF veteran and have attended a voluntary 6 week long inpatient PTSD treatment program with the VA about 4 years ago.

I have never had any issues, have always worked, obtained my Masters Degree since EASing, have been a productive and normal member of society, and have supported my wife and children the whole time. It was a program that was suggested by a VA doctor as being beneficial, not necessary.

I currently shoot, take my wife and two sons shooting, and want to be able to protect my family while at public events or on the go.

Will my medical record come to haunt me while applying for the GA WCL?

Do they go through VA medical records that long ago?

I always check No on everything when purchasing a firearm because I’m not ill, nor a threat to anyone. And I value my ability to protect my family over such nonsense.

It’s never been an issue in the past and I have always advocated the 2nd Amendment for as long as I can remember.

What can I expect when applying for the WCL and might this cause problems for me in future gun purchases if they deem my history a problem?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It was voluntary, of course. I’m not sure how it’s labeled in a medical record though. How does Georgia go about looking it up?

·
Registered
2,139 Posts
You can always apply and see what happens. If there is a problem, you would probably go before the judge to explain.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·