Question about SKS rifles

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by kestak, Jun 7, 2007.

1. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

In my never ending quest to protect my family against the next zombie invasion, I am looking at the SKS rifle.

Can someone explain to me how it is working with the magazine? By looking at the pictures, I thought it was like a mosin nagant and it was a fixed internal magazine and it looks like you can buy 30 rounds magazines to fit your sks. So, how does it work (Don't hesitate to write a
    detailled explanation because I am quite "dumb")?

Thank you

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

Don't hold me to this, I'm no expert. I believe that you can get an adapter that attaches to the rifle where the fixed mag is that allows you to used 30 round AK mags. I have heard that it takes a little modification to work properly.

Edit: Here's a link to how to do it. http://www.alpharubicon.com/leo/30roundergl.htm

3. legacy38

legacy38 Active Member

Standard was a 10 round internal magazine that was loaded via 10 round stripper clips. In later years of the SKS, some where produced that would accept AK mags. You can get 20 and 30 round mags for the SKS that will fit it as is, but they are sketchy when it comes to reliability.

Which SKS are you considering.

4. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

I was looking at the one at www.jgsales.com.

http://www.jgsales.com/product_info.php ... 31d6113320

I got my AK from them and I am quite satisfied of the quality of the weapon. Moreover, I have 2000 rounds of 7.62x39 and I think it needs another gun to be able to be used to when the zombies will hit our neighbour.

My understanding is that rifle is C&R eligible too.

Thank you

5. Macktee

Macktee New Member