Public Gathering

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by Doc Holliday, Jul 12, 2006.

1. Doc Holliday

Doc Holliday New Member

I have been carrying for a few years now. I never really understood the "Public Gathering" wording until I read some threads on here. I have been carrying into malls, Walmart, grocery stores etc.-places with more than 15 people. Am I in violation of the law? What are the chnaces of getting caught and prosecuted? Do you guys just carry anyway and ignore? Please educate me on this.

2. Gunstar1

Gunstar1 Administrator

Re: Pubic Gathering-How many of you ignore this?

Well first a mall, walmart, grocery stores etc... None of those places are a public gathering.

There is no 15 people rule. The best example you can go by is this:

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Nope. Read the State v. Burns case GS1 posted, and tell us what you think.

I do not know where you go the "15 person" line of demarcation between a public place and a public gathering, but I am not aware of it.

Neither WalMart nor the mall nor grocery stores are "public gatherings," unless people are gathered or will gather for a particular function.

4. jrm

jrm Sledgehammer

Or, if it's a really cool grocery store that sells shots of tequila at the checkout stand.

5. Doc Holliday

Doc Holliday New Member

I am a strict, law abiding, God fearing, American citizen. Heck, I've never had a speeding ticket before. I am not talking about ignoring and going to one of the five specific no carry public gatherings. Until I found this site, I didn't realize that a controversy existed with the "public gathering" wording with the law. Forgive my ignorance. I just wanted to know that if carrying into a mall or store was in violation of the law because I've done this thousands of times.