Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
633 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been carrying for a few years now. I never really understood the "Public Gathering" wording until I read some threads on here. I have been carrying into malls, Walmart, grocery stores etc.-places with more than 15 people. Am I in violation of the law? What are the chnaces of getting caught and prosecuted? Do you guys just carry anyway and ignore? Please educate me on this.

·
Premium Member
8,460 Posts
Re: Pubic Gathering-How many of you ignore this?

Doc Holliday said:
I have been carrying into malls, Walmart, grocery stores etc.-places with more than 15 people.
Well first a mall, walmart, grocery stores etc... None of those places are a public gathering.

There is no 15 people rule. The best example you can go by is this:
State v. Burns, 200 Ga. App. 16 (1991). It is only two paragraphs, so here it is in full.

Appellee was arrested at a McDonald's restaurant for the offense of carrying a concealed weapon (OCGA § 16-11-126); however, the State did not pursue the charge upon discovering that appellee had a valid gun permit. Instead, he was charged with carrying a deadly weapon to a public gathering (OCGA § 16-11-127). The trial court granted appellee's motion to dismiss the accusation, stating that McDonald's was not a public gathering as contemplated under the statute, and the State appealed.