Pool of weapons to choose from: can we share our handguns?

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by Boy Racer, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Boy Racer

Boy Racer New Member

Am I only entitled to carry "my own" weapons, and other credentialed persons in our home have to carry only theirs, or can we pool our pistols and carry whichever we want on any given day?

Can I borrow the wife's revolver for a day, and let her carry my automatic, or would there be other legal issues/ramifications if either of the weapons were ever actually used?

I don't want to get into a straw purchase/possession issue by carrying someone else's gun, I guess.

2. S&W 40

S&W 40 Active Member

As long as they are of age for type of firearm and are not disqualified from owning/purchasing there would be no reason that it breaks the law.

As posted on many other threads "I am not a lawyer and your mileage may vary"

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Re: Pool of weapons to choose from: can we share our handgun

If you don't mind carrying a "girlie-gun." :wink:

4. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

You're fine. You will run into a problem if you want to carry NFA weapons that don't belong to you, however.

5. SigP229

SigP229 Active Member

Is this correct? Our handguns aren't registered. We can sell them in this state FTF without a receipt. Does this mean that we can just swap guns with family or friends? Kinda like borrowing your friends truck :)

6. VolGrad

VolGrad Tactical Statistician

As long as they aren't NFA weapons and have not been reported stolen you are golden. Borrowing your friend's truck is more likely to get you in trouble in the event of an accident, at least as far as insurance is concerned.

7. budder