Please help me to understand the law

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by chris_mmmk, Oct 26, 2007.

1. chris_mmmk

chris_mmmk Guest

I am 19, have a 100% clean background, and would like to carry a firearm in my glovebox. I have searched and searched and what I have it down to is whether or not 16-11-126 sect. d defines being under 21 as not being able to get a ccw a reason for me to not be able to carry in the dash.

Can I?

2. GAGunOwner

GAGunOwner Active Member

I'm not a lawyer but I believe that you cannot put a gun in your glovebox if you are under 21. You are not able to obtain a GFL until age 21, thus it appears glovebox carry is a no no. I do think that since you can legally posses a pistol you can transport it in a motor vehicle if it is seperated from its ammo. I'm sure others here will chime in with the exact details of how you'd have to transport it legally.

I asked a LEO if this was okay, and he told me that he thought it was fine. I took that as being enough at the time. Now, I know better and must confirm for myself things such as this. Anyway, I'm going to be honest with you. I started console carrying once I turned 18. I thought what I was doing was legal. I did not find out that what I was doing was illegal until I started reading this website. I'm in my early 20s so none of this was that long ago.

I will say that there was a situation that almost got really bad while I was console carrying like this and it was great knowing that I had that pistol nearby even though later I found out it was illegal so...

3. ls1ssdavid

ls1ssdavid New Member