Pet peeve about LEOs

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by tace, Aug 10, 2007.

1. tace

tace New Member

Don't mean to sound anti-LEO here since I have seriously considered joining APD more than once, but one of my biggest pet peeves about LEOs is how they seem to ignore all traffic laws even while casually driving.

This morning on the way to work, I came to an intersection where the traffic lights were out. So, as a good driver, I came to a complete stop, checked all sides and was about to enter the intersection when an APD motorcycle cop casually just rides through the intersection without even slowing down. Guess who had to slam on his brakes so I wouldn't run over his Harley riding ass.

Another thing, do any of the APD officers know how to use turning signals?

/rant

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

They do it off duty, too. On duty, who is going to give them a ticket? Off duty, an officer generally will not write another officer a ticket. As a result, there is no disincentive to ignoring traffic laws.

Sit down by Forsyth on the interstate in the morning sometime and clock all the cops speeding to their training classes at 90 mph + . . .

It is very hypocritical.

3. ls1ssdavid

ls1ssdavid New Member

"Who's gonna tell me I can't? I AM THE POLICE!!!" You would figure since they are always looked at as if threw a microscope, they would follow everything by the T. Guess not. There is bad people in every organization. I try to give the beneift of the doubt.

4. wsweeks2

wsweeks2 New Member

Well, take this logic - "I believe very much in gun safety - if there's a gun in the room, I'M the one who is going to have it. I'm trained."

Now apply here - "If there's going to be someone speeding, I'm going to be the one to do it. I'm trained."

There ya go!

:roll:

5. AV8R

AV8R Banned