Peace Officer Status.

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by rubberduckie, Jul 9, 2007.

1. rubberduckie

rubberduckie New Member

Hello everyone, Im new to the board. I've read the code and am somewhat confused I understand that in not so many words, Police officers, Correction officers, denention officers and various others who are considered peace officers by title or by the agency employing them are exempt from obtaining a GFL. I am a Correctional Officer and my department (STATE) encouraged us to get a GFL which just means we are covered even more, but are the off limit places the same for a Correctional Officer the Same as a Police Officer? Or is being a Peace Officer make you exempt from the off limit boundries that would are set forth for civillians. That questions is puzzling but I have never gotten a straight answer. Does anyone know?

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

3. Malum Prohibitum

4. Malum Prohibitum

5. Malum Prohibitum

6. Malum Prohibitum

But I would definitely look here.

7. legacy38

legacy38 Active Member

Sad to say that corrections officers in GA are not considered peace officers as COs don't have arrest powers outside of their institution. In some states, COs are considered peace officers.

8. Malum Prohibitum

What he really wants to know is whether he meets the 130 exemption, not whether he is a peace officer, I think.

9. rubberduckie

rubberduckie New Member

Actually we are condsidered peace officers certified by the GA P.O.S.T we also have certificate, as well as card stating we are peace officers. We qualify on the same course of fire with the same score as most other law enforcement agencies in the State. Sniff around the website look and employment it state it there http://www.dcor.state.ga.us/ we also can make felony arrests on state property, as well across the state if apprehending an escapee, But alot of folks dont know that. lol But thanks for the info.

10. legacy38