Ordinary course of business?

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by jccls, Feb 14, 2007.

1. jccls

jccls New Member

Hello,

I'm a UGA administrator, and I'm hoping that the question I have is answerable!

I have a GFL and work in a University building near the middle of campus. Part of the code pertaining to schools leads me to believe that I am entitled to keep my gun in my trunk (my glovebox doesn't lock) while I'm parked on university property and acting in the scope of my employment. Does this seem correct?

Also, I'm not sure about picking up friends (students) from the dorms. Does anyone have any thoughts as to the legality of keeping my gun in my trunk (or on my person) when I do that?

I'm trying to be real careful about this, as I don't have 10,000 and am not at all interested in serving 2-10. Any help you all could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

JS

P.S. Here's the UGA weapons policy, if anyone is interested:

http://www.police.uga.edu/documents/uga ... policy.pdf

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Let's just say that I am glad you kept your anonymity when selecting a pseudonym.

3. Malum Prohibitum

This would help if you were merely passing through or if you were dropping off or picking up a student, in which case you could wear the gun openly on your belt, so long as you do not enter a publicly owned or operated building (different statute). Otherwise, your possession of a GFL is completely irrelevant.

Publicly owned or operated. "Work" is not one of the exceptions listed in the statute for bringing your gun into the building.