Open Carried in Savannah again

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by gsusnake, May 21, 2007.

1. gsusnake

gsusnake Token Liberal Hippie

First, I went to a couple places in the Boro. Got lunch at Chick-Fil-A while OCing. No one said a word. Then filled up at the Wal-Mart gas station, again, nothing.

When I got to Savannah, the first place I went was the Savannah Mall again. For anyone who missed my previous (bad) carry experience it's here.

At Bass Pro, I was asked to show my license in lieu of checking and securing my firearm, which I did without hesitation. I then went downstairs to buy some CLP and some ammo. The "commando" behind the counter talked to me for about 20 minutes, showed me an XD45 and a Glock 21, then went to ring me and my ammo up. AFTER I had purchased everything, he asked if I was a police officer. After I replied "no", he told me I was subject to arrest. I pointed him this way and to GCO and told him it was 100% legal to OC. I also asked to speak to his manager, told him the same thing, and filled out a comment card outlining the encounter and directing their corporate officers here and to GCO.

Went into Target and nobody said a word.

Glared at Waldenbooks as I walked by.

I did a lap around the entire mall, nobody said a word.

Then I drove to the Oglethorpe Mall to go to Macy's. The guy behind the counter asked me what I was carrying, I said "A .40 cal pistol." He laughed and said, "You want to put a hole in something, don't you?" I told him that in the entire time I'd carried, I'd never drawn it except at the range. Another good experience.

Went into Yankee Candle and Victoria's Secret (I'm in trouble with the lady for something, no idea what...) and nobody said a word. Ditto for Gamestop and Hot Topic.