OC In Downtown ATL/Fulton County

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by Infinity, Oct 21, 2007.

1. Infinity

Infinity Guest

Hey guys,

newbie here on the board, but i've been reading your material from quite some time since I relocated to GA about 6 months ago.

Applying for my GFL tomorrow, and have been discussing this with a close friend who has lived in Atlanta a significant amount of time and does a lot of work with the police. He INSISTS that it is not llegal for a bearer of a GFL to open carry anywhere in Atlanta or even Georgia except Kennessaw.

From my personal interpretation and understanding of the law, it is quite legal to bear a holstered firearm on your hip or anywhere between the waist and the shoulders on your body as long as you are carrying your valid GFL. I have seen many here talk about open carrying, but I have not seen any conversation specific to OC in downtown Atlanta where I work or in any part of fulton county for that matter.

Friend says I can even ask the DA for Fulton county, and that I would have to have a less limited license like one a Private investigator might obtain from the Department of State.

Please give me some input????

Thanks...

2. gsusnake

gsusnake Token Liberal Hippie

Ask your friend to cite you a statute that specifically bans open carry.

He won't be able to, as there isn't one.

3. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

It's absolutely legal. I don't think downtown Atlanta is the "best" place to OC, as far as avoiding stops goes, but it's no less legal than if you were to do it in your yard.

4. N.T.F.S.

N.T.F.S. Active Member

You can actually carry anywhere on your body, its not just limited to between the hip and shoulder

5. Infinity

Infinity Guest

Good news gentlemen...Although I do find myself wondering as I listen to the calls on Atlanta's Tac channel, what I would do, if someone pulled up in an SUV jumped out with a .45, pointed it at me, and told me to give them all of my money...