o sure if my firearm rights are restored in Georgia

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by kraneworldchamp, Jan 3, 2016.

1. kraneworldchamp

kraneworldchamp New Member

Hello Everyone I just moved to Georgia and would like to buy a firearm.I am a desert storm Veteran and in 1991 when I came back from desert storm I brought a 9mm back with me (one of theirs).This was in New York. one night I was leaving my girlfriends house and was searched by the police they found the gun and I was arrested I was given 5 years probation and a certificate of relief with box A checked .it says it relives all forfeitures and bars with the exception of being able to hold public office.i was told that I would be able to apply for a permit in new York but im wondering if this means that my rights to possess a weapon in Georgia are restored does anyone have any experience with this ?

Thanks in Advance

2. Alabama Jones

Alabama Jones Señor Member

Thank you for your service, and welcome to GPDO!

I can't answer your question, but it sounds like you should be ok.
    I expect some of the resident attorneys will chime in shortly.
    I think I would go ahead and apply for my weapons license, and
    if that is approved, you should be good to go on a gun purchase.
    If not approved I would secure an attorney well versed in these
    cases and get my record cleaned up.

Good luck! Let us know your results.

3. Nemo

Nemo Man of Myth and Legend

1, Make sure you have a copy certified copy of the paperwork available should the court question it. That should be sufficient for the court. Once you have that you can purchase without a background check that might snag you. If you only have one, let the court review and copy it but make sure you keep that one. Just in case it becomes very tough to get another.

2, Try a purchase and see how that goes, but have a copy available to challenge/appeal the denial if necessary.