No will What happens to small stuff?

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by xls177, Feb 3, 2017.

1. xls177

xls177 Member

When you die but don't have a will or items are not listed in the will.

What happens to the personal stuff like clothes, tools, guns?
    doesn't the law say it has to be divided?
    Says that spouse gets 1/3 kids get 2/3 of the stuff.

Does that mean if my dad passes the kids get 2/3 of personal items ?

2. Casual User

Casual User Member

One of the lawyers will probably chip in here, but when my Dad passed away Mom was in charge of distributing his personal items.

3. DonT

DonT Deplorable bitter clinger.

I'm not a lawyer, and the lawyers here will opine. My experience was the same as above, when my dad passed (he had a will), everything passed to my mom. She took care of his guns and personal items, I ended up with his guns. The big things are what had to pass via probate, to my mom, especially the house and vehicles. The stuff that was not in my dad's name, were in control of my mom, and she distributed or kept items as she saw fit. Also, property such as checking accounts, had a designated beneficiary and passed to my mom outside of the will.

If no will: The items, like guns and clothing and personal items, that are not in anyone's name legally, are pretty much going to be in control of whoever is next of kin and in control of those items. But I'm not sure, legally, how those "small" items will be distributed.

Do not die intestate (without a will). The state gets to decide who gets what. Some interesting info via nolo.com, lots of info like this on websites if you google it.

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/intestate-succession-georgia.html

Last edited: Feb 3, 2017
  4. gunsmoker

gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

Georgia law requires the executor to take an accounting and inventory of all the items in the estate, right?
    So is there a dollar limit on this?