Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, new here. Thanks everybody for all the great information and opinions!

I'm new to CC, just got my license (after an 8 month wait! City of Atl, model efficiency. :roll: ) Anywho, I'm looking for a comfortable holster to carry my Springfield EMP. Being that it is headed for the colder months, I figured I'd go for an OWB that rides high, as I'm sure it will be more comfortable than IWB (which I'll probably do in the warmer months). I'd prefer to stay CC, not quite ready for OC.

So, my question is this: Knowing a lot of it is personal preference, can somebody explain why I'd want a cant, the benefits thereof, and weather or not a straight draw would be better? Is one more concealable than the other?

Your help is most appreciated.

·
Atlanta Overwatch
13,888 Posts
. A canted (angled) holster can keep the butt of the gun from poking out behind you, making it easier to conceal. How much cant can depend on where you plan on wearing it. Most people want more cant as it moves farther back on your hip.

I like a 15 degree cant (FBI cant) at about 4:00, on the back of my hip.

·
Lawyer and Gun Activist
28,312 Posts
What Adam5 just said. :goodpost:

I would add that a good stiff, thick belt is important for a high-riding concealment holster.
Most modern holsters have the belt going well below the center-of-gravity on the loaded gun.
(keep in mind all those rounds in the grip will affect the weight and balance of it).
THe holster will tend to tip away from your body and print more unless your strong belt hugs it tight against you.
I don't mind a holster with no cant if it is right on my hip, but if it's over my right rear pocket (where it feels best and conceals best)
then I like a slight forward cant.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·