Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey people, glad to found this board. Matt J here with my bike as my primary hobby. Since my last visit to uncle at Valdosta, I become interested with his quail shooting hobby. Wanted to try it as well so I'm looking for some gun options. He got Beretta 20-gauge shotgun. I'm looking at any light weight like Browning A5.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
Welcome to the forum. I'm afraid shotguns are not yet a part of my mental firearm repertoire. I'm sure someone will be happy to help you!

·
Weapons Law Booklet
1,056 Posts
Hi SlingerJ. Quail hunting is fun. I did it with a pump action 20 gauge.
Over-unders with screw-in choke tubes and open chokes (Skeet or Improved Cylinder) seem to be what's popular in south Georgia, where I was at the time.

An autoloader would be great, too.

I have no experience with owning autoloaders. From talking to people with them at the shooting ranges, I'm hesitant to buy a Remington 1100 or 11-87, but I always hear good things about Benelli and Beretta.
There's a new imported brand of shotgun made in Turkey, and they're not expensive. I saw a kid and his father using a 20 gauge youth model semi-auto, and they said the gun worked great. Small and light, but mild on recoil, and always reliable. Made in Turkey.

·
Ninjaneering Computers
2,651 Posts
I'm going to assume that we're talking semi-autos, because that's what most folks use to hunt nowadays.

If money is no object, go with a Benelli. No contest. Benelli is the Glock of shotguns, but without the ugly factor.