new member with quick questions

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by Robbyb03, Apr 18, 2007.

1. Robbyb03

Robbyb03 New Member

Hey guys I'm new to this whole handgun thing. I just turned 21 and live in metro Atlanta and I'm getting to that age where I'll be on my own in a few years so I feel the need to get a handgun in case I ever needed it for protection. I'm just getting into range shooting(I've been shooting for a while, but not handguns). I'm kind of torn between a Glock 19 and a Sig 229 or 226, but that's for another topic I guess. Some quick questions for anyone who will answer...

--Some on here refer to a 'GFL'. Is that just another name for a concealed weapons permit or is it something totally different?
    --While waiting for my concealed weapons permit, can I carry my firearm in my car with the magazine in the gun? Do I have to keep it in 'full view' or can I put it under my seat, in the glove compartment, or in my console?
    --Can I 'open carry' while waiting for my permit or do I need the permit in order to open carry?
    --What is the maximum capacity I can carry in a magazine? I know they come in 15,17,19, and 31 round magazines, so I was just wondering which one I can/should choose.

Any responses would be greatly appreciated. I love the site and I've learned a lot from reading over all the posts on here.
    Thanks again guys/gals,
    Rob

2. Rammstein

Rammstein New Member

Welcome to GPDO Robbyb03.

A Georgia Firearm License (GFL) permits someone to carry their weapon concealed or openly. There is no concealed weapons permit in Georgia.