Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
7,594 Posts

·
Registered
663 Posts
Would the implied level of scrutiny from McDonald as applying to the states be applicable in an appeal in this case?

Either way, and appeal should be a no-brainer for the judge's egregious behavior.

As a former resident, I can confirm, New Jersey sucks.

·
Junior Butt Warmer
46,427 Posts
To buy a gun in New Jersey, you must go through a laborious process to obtain a "purchaser's permit." But that permit doesn't entitle you to possess a gun. A few select groups of people, mostly off-duty police officers and security personnel, can obtain carry permits. But anyone else with a gun is presumed to be violating state law and must defend against the charge of illegal gun possession by claiming one of the state's exemptions.

Evan Nappen, who is representing Aitken in his appeal, likens the process to claiming self-defense in a murder case. "If you kill someone because they're about to kill you first," he says, "you're still guilty of homicide. You have to prove you should be granted the exception for self-defense. It's the same thing for just about all New Jersey gun owners. You're guilty until you prove that you're innocent.â€
. . .
In a telephone interview, [Judge] Morley (who lost his job when Gov. Christie declined to reappoint him in June because of rulings in unrelated cases) says he didn't allow the jury to consider the moving exception because "it wasn't relevant."
:faint:

·
Registered
181 Posts