New Georgia Resident Open carry question

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by Bob Hansen, Nov 23, 2020.

  1. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
    Just moved from FL to GA last month. Wife and I had FL Concealed weapons permits, which evaporate as soon as you become a GA resident. Heavy hit considering 2020 events. Now we have to wait for appointment to apply in GA. February 26th is the first available. Then I guess its a 60 day processing period to actually get the license. So it will be more than 6 months by the time this is done.

    My question.... I had "heard" that Ga you could open carry with no license/permit required. Was that wrong? Or did that change recently?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Adam5

    Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

    13,676
    188
    63
    OCGA 16-11-126 requires a license to carry, unless you’re exempt under OCGA 16-11-130.

    Georgia does not differentiate between open or concealed carry, except for on college campuses.

    You can carry on your Florida license for 90 days after becoming a Georgia resident. Give me a minute or two and I will find that code section for you.
     
    Buckshot Barry and Bob Hansen like this.

  3. Archangel

    Archangel Moderator Staff Member

    7,104
    105
    63
    The only open carry you can do in Georgia without a GWCL is a long gun.
    To carry your handgun outside of your house/property, you must have a GWCL.
    The only exception is your vehicle. As long as you would not be prohibited from obtaining a GWCL, you can carry legally, in your car.

    As Adam5 said you have 90 days though to get your GWCL. He got that in before I posted. :-D
     
    gunsmoker, Bob Hansen and Adam5 like this.
  4. Adam5

    Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

    13,676
    188
    63
    Buckshot Barry and UtiPossidetis like this.
  5. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
    WHEWWWWWWW THANK YOU !!!!!!! I don't know how you could find that, but that is exactly what I need.

    I'm printing that section of the law and into the wallet it is going.

    I cannot thank you enough.

    Bob Hansen
     
    TimBob likes this.
  6. Adam5

    Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

    13,676
    188
    63
    You’re welcome.
     
    Bob Hansen likes this.
  7. Adam5

    Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

    13,676
    188
    63
    You’re welcome.
     
  8. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
    just as a side note, Do you know what it feels like when suddenly you can't carry? It's like going out naked! Again THANKS.
     
    Jonathan Freeman likes this.
  9. 45_Fan

    45_Fan Well-Known Member

    8,233
    120
    63
    And welcome to Georgia!

    If you purchased a house, you should be able to get a new driver’s license, apply for a GWCL, and a homestead exemption in the same week.

    Based on your wait time to apply, I assume DeKalb, so hello neighbor! The county is decent about compliance after a few lawsuits and until they find a new loophole to delay issuance. There are a few attorneys that read and post here if you have any issues.
     
  10. gunsmoker

    gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

    27,772
    782
    113

    Yep.
    Since GA and FL have reciprocity regarding carry permits, that's when the 90 day grace period applies to new residents who move to Georgia.

    We in GA have reciprocity rights with 32 other states, at my last count.
     
    TimBob likes this.
  11. gunsmoker

    gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

    27,772
    782
    113
    I think this explanation is a little more restrictive than the law itself.
    As Long as you're not a "prohibited person" under federal law you can carry a handgun in your car, your home, or your place of business.
    Some people may be legal to own a handgun under federal and state law, but they might be disqualified from getting a weapons carry permit in Georgia.

    Examples: 1-- a misdemeanor drug conviction in the last few years.

    2-- having committed some misdemeanor weapons-carrying offense at an off-limits location.

    3-- Being only 18, 19, or 20 years old and never having been in the military.
     
  12. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3

    Thanks for the reply. We did buy a house. Got our drivers license quickly but they had us wait 30 days on the homestead exemption (It is done) I went to the courthouse (Effingham County) city of Springfield and was given a phone number to call for gun license info. When I called the first appointment to come in and apply was February 26. A long time yes, but they have covid procedures and this is a small town. So I wait. The 90 day period to apply helps a lot.

    When I went to get gun permit info, employees at the courthouse commented that "no one should have guns", I did not respond at all. This was her opinion and frankly I didn't care what her opinion was so I just ignored her.

    They do take their time getting things done here but I chose to move to a rural town in Georgia, I suspect I will need to grow some patience. They were here first after all LOL

    This really is a beautiful area ....

    Thanks again for the assist and guidance.
     
    Jonathan Freeman likes this.
  13. Archangel

    Archangel Moderator Staff Member

    7,104
    105
    63
    Nice to know how some of our public servants feel about us, isn't it?
     
    MSgt G likes this.
  14. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
    Yes indeed. Actually I think I was naive... I expected a different response from this area. But there are people everywhere that feel the way those employees do.
    Never too old to learn (me)
     
    Archangel likes this.
  15. UtiPossidetis

    UtiPossidetis American

    3,230
    276
    83
    First, welcome aboard. Second, there are transplants and sheeple even in small town Georgia, sadly.
     
    Archangel and Bob Hansen like this.
  16. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
    True!! Truly a nice area though. No complaints there.
     
  17. 45_Fan

    45_Fan Well-Known Member

    8,233
    120
    63
    Bob Hansen likes this.
  18. mountainman444

    mountainman444 Well-Known Member

    1,499
    37
    48
    No need to over work yourself.
     
  19. Bob Hansen

    Bob Hansen New Member

    7
    4
    3
  20. 45_Fan

    45_Fan Well-Known Member

    8,233
    120
    63
    Well, to be fair, one usually intends to do the latter just once but the state says the former expires every 5 years. Another aspect is one license covers only one person and the other...opens a can of worms these days when you ask who it covers! :rotfl:
     
    Bob Hansen likes this.