Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 20 of 122 Posts

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last night my friend and I were arrested for "interfering with an officer" for refusing to show id while we were in the backseat. Without going into detail, I am looking for an attorney because I want to sue for illegal detainment. Problem is, I'm a broke college student. Are any available that would do a % of the award if we won, and nothing up front? They also took our firearms and apparently the atf has to run ballistics before we get them back...

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also was never read my miranda rights.

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ttt

·
Registered
1,849 Posts
Miranda rights are only read prior to "interview" (official interrogation) and have nothing to do with arrest.

Regardless, you should be able to fight that. I think first step would be getting a not-guilty verdict, but IANAL. Call Doug King?

·
Registered
6,548 Posts
You could also try contacting GCO leadership. If there's a chance to establish good case law that would further gun rights they might be interested in sponsoring it. Without knowing all the details (which you probably shouldn't post here) it's hard to say though.

·
16,485 Posts
Doug King for the defense and expungement, then John Monroe if you want to try a civil suit. Contacting the department and getting the officers trained may be the best result.

·
Seasteading Aficionado
44,896 Posts
budder said:
Doug King for the defense and expungement, then John Monroe if you want to try a civil suit. Contacting the department and getting the officers trained may be the best result.
THIS FTW!

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
mb90535im said:
Broke college student = public defender

Good luck.
Papers peasant!

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
dcannon1 said: