Looking for IWB holster for my RIA 1911-A1

Discussion in 'Holsters / Method of Carry' started by Ramblinwreck11, Nov 5, 2010.

1. Ramblinwreck11

Ramblinwreck11 New Member

I'm very new to carrying I just got my GWL back in July and now I'm looking for a good IWB holster for my RIA 1911-A1 commander series. I've done a little bit of research but wanted to get some opinions on where to get a good quality holster. Thanks in advance

2. jmathis84

jmathis84 New Member

Check with Zookeeper . He is one this forum and very good at making exactly what you are looking for. Also check RGrizzle leather and Comptac. That is from what i understand everyone is using. I myself dont carry IWB as it is not comfortable for me

3. martin_j001

martin_j001 Active Member

There's two things to consider in carrying IWB, in my opinion. One is weight distribution, the other is the comfort of the holster (also means "thin-ness"). I have a "Summer Special" knock off holster for my 1911 and it is rather comfortable (see a thread I started about it >>here<<). I also have a Comp-Tac MTAC holster for my Ruger SR9c, which is my daily carry weapon. While the Summer Special holster carried the weight of the 1911 well, for every day use I think I would prefer the better weight distribution that the Comp-Tac MTAC gives. Almost don't know its there once you get it set up right.

Whatever route you go, I would highly suggest going with something that puts leather against your skin, and not plastic/kydex.

4. tmoore912

tmoore912 Just a Man