Lobbying Law Makers for a Uniform State Law For Gun Carry

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by Watch_Their_Hands, Mar 5, 2007.

1. Watch_Their_Hands

Watch_Their_Hands New Member

It occurs to me, that with as backward as many of GA's gun laws are, concerning the complicated manner in which they are written, the way in which they are interpreted by the various probate judges and LEO's of different counties, and how the laws that are beneficial to gun owners are often completely ignored, if there were a law that stated that GA gun owners could carry openly without a GFL, it would go a long way toward opening the door to other pro-gun laws.

I greatly appreciate all that I have learned here thus far. There are many very knowledgeable people here. While I am not new to gun ownership, I am new to GA gun laws in respect to carrying openly and concealed; there are many here that know far more than I. Any suggestions on how we can begin a truly concerted effort toward the goal of making a law such as this a reality? Thanks.

2. Gunstar1

Gunstar1 Administrator

Yes, the AJC has not seen a pro gun bill they liked, um... ever, as far as I can tell.

However, I think a way to get past them is to launch 2 pronged attacks. If we can introduce a big bill that repeals a lot of stuff, like public gatherings and other off limits places, and at the same time get multiple smaller 1 or 2 item repeals introduced, we can get the media to focus on the big bill and hopefully get the smaller ones through without much media attention.

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

27 states already allow the open carry of a firearm without a license. Georgia would be merely joining the majority of states.

4. Watch_Their_Hands