·
Registered
15,974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
******* Engineer
1,838 Posts
A lot of win in the quotes section...

Found this one pretty awesome (emphasis mine)
James Weaver said yesterday at 3:50 PM
I'm a chemistry teacher at a university. People need to understand that a campus is a public place. Criminals walk onto campuses and commit crimes. Criminals, maniacs, and terrorists are keenly aware of the fact that campuses have classes with hundreds of students in auditoriums and classrooms inside buildings that are sitting ducks because teachers and students are NOT ALLOWED to have any means to protect themselves or others. Self defense is a god given, constitutionally protected right. This law isn't mandating every teacher be armed. Only teachers who are willing to accept the responsibility.

·
Seasteading Aficionado
44,896 Posts
:righton: :righton: :righton: That sure would put an end to school shootings. If nothing else, there wouldn't be any more high body count Columbine style shootings, especially if a majority of the teachers had access to firearms and also were trained on how to use them.

·
Registered
498 Posts
This would be one area that hours of verified training would be a must. Some sort of "shoot / don't shoot" type of training and some sort of mental evaluation.

I mean have you seen some of these teachers these days? Trust them with a gun? I barely trust them with a pencil!

I would like to see armed teachers under the proper circumstances.

·
Registered
15,974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
4HorseShoes said:
This would be one area that hours of verified training would be a must. Some sort of "shoot / don't shoot" type of training and some sort of mental evaluation.

I mean have you seen some of these teachers these days? Trust them with a gun? I barely trust them with a pencil!

Disagree.

If you've got a GWL (I'm not even going to attempt to address unlicensed carry right now) you ought to be able to legally carry into a school.