laptop wifi question

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by Schweisshund, Jul 2, 2017.

1. Schweisshund

Schweisshund Well-Known Member

Is there a wifi usb stick that I can buy at walmart or bestbuy that will allow me to have internet access anywhere? Something I can pay upfront for?

Sorry if this is a new question.

2. mygunstoo

mygunstoo Active Member

Check with the cellular carriers. They offer an USB type device that connects to cell towers pretty much like a smart phone.

Or use your smart phone as a hot spot and connect your laptop to it.

3. rmodel65

rmodel65 Yukon Cornelius

i think straight talk offers a separate hot spot you can buy and get date for

4. Schweisshund

My data plan does not include a wifi hotspot - how do I go about getting the "WiFi Wireless Adapter With Antenna USB LAN Card for internet access."?

Do they sell this at best buy or walmart?

I am an OTR truck driver, having internet on the road means a lot to me.

Last edited: Jul 4, 2017
  5. mygunstoo

mygunstoo Active Member

Unless you laptop is very old, it should have the wifi interface already installed. Your smart phone should also have the option to create a hotspot for wifi in the settings menu.

Just out of curiosity, what laptop do you have?

6. Schweisshund

I have a Dell with windows 10 installed Intel core i5-2520m CPU @ 2.50 GHz it has the built in wifi antennae, the problem is having wifi availability while on the road. My iPhone does not have the mobile hotspot option in my settings menu

7. mygunstoo

mygunstoo Active Member

If your iPhone does not have a personal hot spot under settings then what rmodel65 suggests is the way to go.

But before you do that I would double check.

8. Craftsman

Craftsman Well-Known Member