Kel-tec or ?

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by cripple, Oct 17, 2007.

1. cripple

cripple New Member

Im going this weekend to look for a concelment weapon but I only have $350 to spend. Im looking for something in a 9mm. All I can think of is the Kel-Tec 9-11. Are there any other choices?

2. RepeatDefender

RepeatDefender New Member

Bersa comes to mind in that price range, but then I have no experience with their firearms.

No offense, but you may consider saving a bit more to a get a better quality weapon. For about $100 more you could be in the used Glock, XD, or S&W range. You may even be able to find something new.

Good luck and don't rush to any snap decisions. Take your time and feel a lot of the guns. See what feels right to you.

3. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

I've only heard good about Bersa.

As far as Kel-Tecs go, I know a few people on this forum carry the P-3AT as a BUG. I haven't had any problems with mine, but I just picked it up from Semper Fi last night and haven't put any rounds through it, so this may not be the best data point ;)

If you can scrape together $200 more, the Kahr PM9 will be in your price range. I think that's the best probably the best 9mm in that size range.

The Kel-Tec PF-9 is supposedly much better than the P-11, since it's smaller and the newer version. If you're looking at these guns, I would recommend doing some reading at ktog.org and ktrange.org, though the guys at the latter forum are not quite as friendly or polite as those at the former.

Do you have any size requirement? Do you want something pocketable, or maybe something for a hip holster or shoulder holster? Does it have to be in 9mm, or will .380 do as well?

4. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch