Just moved to Marietta

Discussion in 'Welcome New Members' started by SergeK, Apr 9, 2017.

1. SergeK

SergeK New Member

Hey Fellas,

Just moved here from South Florida where I worked at Only The Best Firearms for a few years

Ill be looking to get back into long range shooting in the next few months as well as some IDPA style matches. Big fan of CZs, AKs, and FALs. Waiting for a few NFA items to still transfer to my address in Florida, which I will then have transferred here.

Question.

I have a GA Drivers License, FL Drviers licence and FL CWP. Can I carry here? I know the FL CWP has reciprocity, but im not sure how that plays in with me being a resident in GA AND in FL.

2. Alabama Jones

Alabama Jones Señor Member

Welcome to GPDO! Please also take a look at Georgiacarry.org
    Georgia's premier second amendment lobbying group.

I'm no expert, but to the best of my knowledge, you should only
    maintain one drivers license (that of your primary residence), and
    your primary firearms carry license (in Ga. it's a "weapons license)
    should be from the same state, although you can maintain other
    non resident firearms licenses. A Florida non resident license adds
    reciprocity for several states.

3. UtiPossidetis

UtiPossidetis American

Welcome aboard. We're in the middle of the legislative season, and several bills are awaiting signature. A couple of the local attorneys here will be able to tell you if your GA DL makes your FL CWP "expired" or irrelevant.

4. DonT

DonT Deplorable bitter clinger.

Welcome to Georgia, from just down the road in East Cobb.

Current law indicates that once someone becomes a Georgia resident, they cannot then carry on the previous state carry permit.

See this law, 16-11-126, from the Official Code of Georgia, and a quoted key paragraph:

http://www.georgiacarry.org/cms/ga-code-detail/?title=16&chapter=11&section=126