Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Member Georgia Carry
11,710 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What steps do I need to take to get charge of the affairs of an elderly parent who is not capable anymore to handle business?

·
Registered
76 Posts
Im not an expert but id say youll need power of attorney, if they refuse to consent to that, you can file in court for what i think is called durable power of attorney where the court appoints you over the individual and estate better be ready to prove their incapacity, I imagine the bar is high for that especially with resistance

·
Registered
3,995 Posts
My mom, widowed, was reaching a point where her eyesight was failing, but was still ok mentally, initiated giving me power of attorney, adding me to bank accounts etc. I am so thankful it wasn't some contentious situation like some I've heard of. It made things so much easier when she had her stroke and instantly became unable to make decisions on her own. My brother kept wanting her to change her will to make me sole beneficiary to what he thought would protect his half of the inheritance from creditors, but when I realized that a) she didn't understand why and b) that it would likely be seen as fraud, I was able to pull the plug on that scheme.

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
I'd suggest talking to an attorney. I think you have to have an attorney to get a power of attorney anyway. Do they have a will or even better a trust ?

·
Registered
3,146 Posts