I think I got to the bottom of Barrow County's delay...

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by Blackadder, Dec 11, 2006.

1. Blackadder

Blackadder New Member

I am a Barrow County resident (originally from Madison County, thank God) who submitted an application for a CCW permit 4 months ago (1st of Aug.).

The probate court told me that it could be as much as SIX MONTHS before they receive background checks that will allow them to issue my permit. The sherrif's office also told me that the GBI has a backlog of 5 months for processing fingerprints.

Well, I got the Sherriff's office to provide me a ORI # (whatever the hell that is) so I could call the GBI and check on progress, or lack thereof, for myself.

A very nice lady at the GBI told me that my Background check had processed on Friday and was being returned to Barrow County. She also told me that there is NO 5 month delay, and that all the submittals from September were completed over a week ago.

That means that my fingerprints were not submitted until October.

Glad to know how efficiently my tax dollars are being implemented

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

ORI means originating agency identification. https://online.dds.ga.gov/gecps/ncic_ori.aspx

I think it has been established time and again that the "5 months at GBI" statement is a lie that is convenient because most people will not check up on it.

With that having been said, I suggest you click on the link and then read everything linked therein pertaining to the lawsuit on the 60 day issue. You might find it entertaining reading. All of the pertinent pleadings are provided in a case that is currently pending on appeal in the Georgia Court of Appeals.

3. Gunstar1

Gunstar1 Administrator

Yea, I have been looking into this for a while now. It is usually said the GBI has a backlog.