Houston County newbie

Discussion in 'Welcome New Members' started by gtmatt, Jun 2, 2007.

1. gtmatt

gtmatt Member

Hi y'all!

Just got my GFL today after applying last Friday. I thought I'd get the process moving after reading some of the horror stories on here so I'd be more or less sure to have it when I eventually am ready to carry. No worries on that, I guess... However, I'm new to firearms so I've got a lot to learn. A few of the guys at work are into shooting, so I'm hoping to get some pointers and help from them.

No handgun yet, but I've been thinking about a S&W M&P .40 full-size or compact. If anybody has any input to give on how to get my wife more comfortable with the thought of me carrying (I think she's okay with having a handgun in the house for protection) or where to go for training, purchase of ammo/weapon, and/or a range for practice, I'm all ears.

Matt

2. ptsmith24

ptsmith24 New Member

:welcome:

There are quite a few threads on here about those things if you wanna search. I'm sure a few people will give their thoughts in this thread, though, if you wanna wait for that.

3. merlock

merlock New Member

:welcome: It's good to see that our county is still issuing quickly!

4. glockgirl

glockgirl New Member

I think the best way to get a wife comfortable is to take her to the range. More importantly find a girl to go with her. For some reason girls seem to do better when another girl goes with them. I have taken a few girls to the range for their guys. Most like it when given the opportunity.

5. legacy38

legacy38 Active Member

6. Rammstein

Rammstein New Member

Welcome to GPDO gtmatt!

7. zookeper

zookeper Active Member