Hmmm, swapping rounds

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by DrGlock, Mar 6, 2007.

1. DrGlock

DrGlock New Member

All right, here I go again!

Im reading about bullets compressing into the casing and putting marker on your rounds. Imm assuming (yes, thats ass-u-meing) that this is from taking out your carry rounds and replacing them with FMJ for plinking/ target shooting. Am I right.

Why not just get a few extra mags and leave your carry ammo home?

Be nice. Remember, Im a rookie at this. Down boy! Niiiiicccceeee!!!

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

I use extra mags for target shooting/playing at the range, but I still have to eject the round in the chamber when I get there, and rechamber it when I leave. It's the chambering/rechambering that can cause setback issues.

I inspect my carry ammo for visible issues after every practice session. Call me stupid, but I try to keep the rounds that have already been chambered in the bottom of my mag. I try to shoot my carry ammo every six weeks or so anyhow. I like to stay proficient and familiar with it. I shoot 115 FMJs at the range with my Glock, and 147 JHPs for carry. If I need to shoot in a self defense situation, I don't want it to have been 6 months since I felt the stronger ammo. The same goes with my Walther PPK/S and the 95 gr fmj that I practice with and the 102 JHPs I carry.

3. Rammstein

Rammstein New Member

Like Adam5 said, it is not the problem of the cartridges in the magazine, but the chambering/extraction of the round already in the chamber.

From the test I did with my current carry ammo I see no reason to go to lengths to mark and move around the two rounds that normally are in the pipe.

Here is the test that I did:
    So, I see no real reason to mark casings or rotate them through the magazine. There is no practical reason to do so from what I have found.