Gun Control Showdown this Week

Discussion in 'Previous Bills' started by seajay, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. seajay

    seajay NRA Certified Instructor

    4,996
    0
    36
    (Atlanta, Monday, March 7) -- Pro-gun Sen. Jeff Mullis (R-Chickamauga) is planning to bring his SB 175 Ga. Brady Check revision to the floor of the State Senate this week, most likely Fri. Mar. 11.

    "The exact timing will be up to the Rules Committee," Sen. Mullis said. "At this time of the year, there's a big press to get everything through before the crossover deadline."

    SB 175 is a first step towards getting rid of unnecessary gun control in Georgia. And it permanently repeals the $5 tax gun buyers pay on every gun bought under the present system.

    the anti-gunners are going to fight SB 175 tooth and nail. They're scheming to derail the bill by loading it up with gun control amendments.

    WARNING: the new Senate is loaded with country-club Republicans and party-switchers who are totally clueless about your right to keep and bear arms.

    Because this is the first gun-related action in a new Senate packed with inexperienced legislators, it's vital that you contact your state senator IMMEDIATELY and say NO to any gun control amendments on SB 175.

    The GFODL would also like you to request that section 1 if the GFODL bill be added as an amendment. It can be found at

    http://www.gfodl.org/action.php

    Just copy and paste it onto your fax or email and ask for it to be amended to HB 175.

    The coming showdown will set the tone on gun control in the Senate for the rest of the term. This includes next years session as well.

    Gun owners got a preview of what the anti-gunners are scheming, two weeks ago when SB 175 came before the Senate Public Safety Committee.

    Anti-gun agitator Sen. Gloria Butler (D-Stone Mountain) pushed 3 amendments:

    --spend more taxpayer dollars to track statewide Brady Check statistics so the anti-gunners can twist the data into gun control propaganda for the Atlanta newspapers to blare out;

    --keep the Ga. Brady Check and tax in place, while exempting rifles and shotguns. In other words, demonize pistols which many people keep for self-defense;

    --keep the Ga. Brady Check and tax in place until some new computer database of court records is complete, which they admit could take years. In other words, delay the repeal indefinitely.

    Fortunately, Ms. Butler's amendments were shot down by a close vote of 3-4.

    Even worse are the amendments they talked about, but are holding until the bill gets to the Senate floor where the rest of the anti-gun politicians and compromisers can pile on:

    --keep the Ga. Brady Check and tax in place, but hike the tax to $12 on every gun bought under the system;

    --ban gun shows with 1000 yards of every schoolyard, playground, and childcare center in the state. In other words, if some anti-gunners open a daycare center near one of the few remaining locations for gun shows, that gun show gets shut down.

    With the anti-gunners working overtime against your interests, it's crucial you contact your state senator right away and urge him or her to vote NO on all amendments to SB 175 so it can pass safely.

    ACTION: Send a message to your State Senator.

    01 Eric Johnson (R-Savannah) 656-5109 ejohnson@legis.state.ga.us 657-9727
    02 Regina Thomas (D-Savannah) 463-7784 rthomas@legis.state.ga.us 656-6579
    03 Jeff Chapman (R-Brunswick) 656-0045 jchapman@legis.state.ga.us 463-7785
    04 Jack Hill (R-Reidsville) 656-5038 jhill@legis.state.ga.us 657-7094
    05 Curt Thompson (D-Norcross) 463-1318 curt@curtthompson.com 463-1388
    06 Doug Stoner (D-Smyrna) 463-2518 dstoner@legis.state.ga.us 656-6484
    07 Greg Goggans (R-Douglas) 463-5263 drgg@altell.net 657-0459
    08 Tim Golden (D-Valdosta) 656-7580 tgolden@legis.state.ga.us 463-4226
    09 Don Balfour (R-Snellville) 656-0095 ss9balfour@aol.com 656-6581
    10 Emanuel Jones (D-Decatur) 656-0502 emanj@mindspring.com 657-3217
    11 John Bulloch (R-Ochlocknee) 656-0040 jbulloch@rose.net 463-2279
    12 Michael Meyer von Bremen (D-Albany) 656-0037 mmeyer@legis.state.ga.us 657-9887
    13 Joseph Carter (R-Tifton) 463-1363 joseph@josephcarter2004.com 463-1381
    14 George Hooks (D-Americus) 656-0065 ghooks@legis.state.ga.us 657-9728
    15 Ed Harbison (D-Columbus) 656-0074 eharbison@legis.state.ga.us 657-9728
    16 Ronnie Chance (R-Tyrone) 656-0071 rchance@legis.state.ga.us 463-1385
    17 John Douglas (R-Covington) 656-0503 jfdouglas@aol.com 657-3217
    18 Cecil Staton (R-Macon) 656-5039 cstaton@legis.state.ga.us 463-1386
    19 Tommie Williams (R-Lyons) 656-0089 tommie@tommiewilliams.com 651-6768
    20 Ross Tolleson (R-Perry) 656-0081 rosstolleson@alltel.net 463-2279
    21 Chip Rogers (R-Woodstock) 463-1378 chiprogers2@comcast.net 463-1385
    22 Charles Walker (D-Augusta) 463-1374 cwalker@walkergroup.net 463-1387
    23 J. B. Powell (D-Blythe) 463-1314 jbpowell@legis.state.ga.us 463-1386
    24 Jim Whitehead (R-Evans) 656-5114 jwpw32@aol.com 657-0797
    25 Johnny Grant (R-Milledgeville) 656-0082 jwgrant@alltel.net 657-3248
    26 Robert Brown (D-Macon) 656-5035 rbrown@legis.state.ga.us 463-2071
    27 Bill Stephens (R-Canton) 656-0048 bstephen@legis.state.ga.us 463-5220
    28 Mitch Seabaugh (R-Sharpsburg) 656-6446 mail@mitchseabaugh.com 651-6768
    29 Seth Harp (R-Midland) 463-3931 sethharp@aol.com 463-2279
    30 Bill Hamrick (R-Carrollton) 656-0036 bhamrickiii@yahoo.com 651-6767
    31 Bill Heath (R-Bremen) 463-1361 billheath@billheath.net 463-1381
    32 Judson Hill (R-Marietta) 656-0150 judson@judsonhill.com 463-7785
    33 Steve Thompson (D-Marietta) 656-0083 sthompso@legis.state.ga.us 651-6767
    34 Valencia Seay (D-Riverdale) 656-5095 vseay@legis.state.ga.us 463-2535
    35 Kasim Reed (D-Atlanta) 463-1379 kreed@legis.state.ga.us 463-1387
    36 Sam Zamarripa (D-Atlanta) 643-8054 szamarri@legis.state.ga.us 651-6767
    37 John Wiles (R-Marietta) 657-0406 john@johnwiles.com 657-0797
    38 Horacena Tate (D-Atlanta) 463-8053 htate@legis.state.ga.us 463-7783
    39 Vincent Fort (D-Atlanta) 656-5091 vfort@legis.state.ga.us 657-7266
    40 Daniel Weber (R-Dunwoody) 463-2260 djweber@bellsouth.net 463-4161
    41 Steve Henson (D-Tucker) 656-0085 stevehenson@mindspring.com 657-9887
    42 David Adelman (D-Decatur) 463-1376 dadelman@legis.state.ga.us 656-6484
    43 Steen Miles (D-Decatur) 463-2598 smiles2k@bellsouth.net 463-2535
    44 Terrell Starr (D-Jonesboro) 656-7586 tstarr@legis.state.ga.us 657-9728
    45 Renee Unterman (R-Buford) 463-1368 reneeu@mindspring.com 651-6768
    46 Brian Kemp (R-Athens) 463-1366 bkemp@legis.state.ga.us 657-0459
    47 Ralph Hudgens (R-Comer) 657-4700 ralph@ralphhudgens.com 463-2279
    48 David Shafer (R-Duluth) 651-7738 dshafer@legis.state.ga.us 651-5795
    49 Casey Cagle (R-Gainesville) 656-6578 kccagle@bellsouth.net 651-6767
    50 Nancy Schaefer (R-Turnerville) 463-1367 nancysch@alltel.net 656-6579
    51 Chip Pearson (R-Dawsonville) 656-9221 cpearson@legis.state.ga.us 657-3248
    52 Preston Smith (R-Rome) 656-0034 pwsmith@gov.state.ga.us 463-4161
    53 Jeff Mullis (R-Chickamauga) 656-0057 jmullis@legis.state.ga.us 651-6767
    54 Don Thomas (R-Dalton) 656-6436 dthomas@legis.state.ga.us 651-6767
    55 Gloria Butler (D-Stone Mountain) 656-0075 senatorbutler@comcast.net 657-9728
    56 Dan Moody (R-Alpharetta) 463-8055 danmoody@bellsouth.net 651-6768

    If you send it via email you may want to follow up with a fax or phone call.
     
  2. coyy2k1

    coyy2k1 New Member

    21
    0
    0
    Sent an email today as well as a fax. I would really hate to see any amendments added to these bills that are negative. On another note I still have not gotten a time for the SPECIAL SESSION this weekend. I hope to have that no later than tomorrow and will post then.. :D
     

  3. seajay

    seajay NRA Certified Instructor

    4,996
    0
    36
    Thanks for catching that error on my part. I corrected it in my post.
     
  4. stepbyrd

    stepbyrd New Member

    5
    0
    0
    I just love my Senator!
     
  5. seajay

    seajay NRA Certified Instructor

    4,996
    0
    36
    Just to bring this topic back to the forefront.
     
  6. ber950

    ber950 Active Member

    3,562
    2
    38
    Senator

    Nice to know where my Senator (Gloria Butler) stands. Also nice to know I won't be voting for her next election.