GFL without a GA drivers license

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by publius, Oct 23, 2007.

1. publius

publius Guest

I have a rather strange question. In the event I ever need to prove to a LEO that I am legally entitled to carry a firearm, what other ID is necessary beyond my GFL (which sadly, IMO, lacks a photo)?

The reason I ask is that I maintain dual residency. I lived for over a decade in Texas and came to Georgia for college (5 years ago). After I had been here a couple months, I canceled my Texas voter registration and became a GA registered voter. I have been a legal resident of this state for 5 years. However, I have legally maintained my Texas drivers license because as a legal dependent of my father, that is allowed. When I applied for my GFL I used my GA voter registration card and my passport, which is completely legal even though many people had told me I HAD to have a GA drivers license.

So, cop shows up, I respectfully inform him that I am carrying, show my GFL and he will probably ask to see my drivers license. He is most likely unaware of the legality of dual residency afforded to those actively pursuing a higher level education. What then? Should I carry around my voter registration as further proof? Has anyone ever had the authenticity of their very unofficial looking GFL questioned?

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Just show the GFL if necessary. No other i.d. is required.

3. Malum Prohibitum

Nope. You must have a Georgia driver's license within 30 days of estblishing residency here, regardless of what Texas says. THis has nothing to do with domicile. Just residency.

4. VolGrad

VolGrad Tactical Statistician